Honesty

I believe in honesty. It is important to me that I do my best to be honest about who I am, what I believe, or what I feel. While this is super important, I know that I am human, there are times when I don’t follow through.

I am not talking about the type of honesty that means telling your children there is no Santa, tooth fairy, or Easter Bunny. Those are white lies that make their lives magical. They can also come in handy when one child smacks the other and lies telling you the couch did it. *This was a real lie my 3yr old told me*

I don’t want someone to get to know me and then realize I’m crazy. I would much rather put my crazy out there and let the chips fall where they may.

It’s not just about the crazy. Sometimes it’s about beliefs or ideals.

Beliefs: I don’t know if I believe in God and I don’t care about your religion. I don’t mean that in a rude way! It’s meant to say that your religion won’t affect if we are friends. Unless you try to shove it down my throat: that shits not cool. I’m all for a good conversation or debate as long as we can both walk away in a good place. If you are generally a good person that is all that will matter to me.

Ideals: I am not racist, homophobic, or xenophobic. If you are, I don’t really want to know you. All people should be loved or be able to love. No one should be hated based on their skin color or religion. Nor should they be hated because people of their race or religion did something awful.

These are just a few things that I would be honest about within the first couple meetings of someone.

The rest is harder to be open about. The struggles with depression, general anxiety, social anxiety, a hint of paranoia, and other things sprinkled in.

Leave a Reply

